Diane Black, Marsha Blackburn, and Scott DesJarlais Nominate Donald Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

Rep. Diane Black (R-TN-06), Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN-07), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN-04) and fifteen additional Republican members of Congress nominated Donald Trump for the Nobel Peace Prize on Wednesday.

Black broke the news first with this tweet:


In a letter addressed to the Honorable Berit Reiss-Anderson, Chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee in Oslo Norway, dated May 2, Black, Blackburn and their Republican House colleagues made their case why President Trump deserves the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize:

Since taking office, President Trump has worked tirelessly to apply maximum pressure on North Korea to end its illicit weapons program and bring peace to the region. His Administration successfully united the international community, including China, to impose one of the most successful international sanction regimes in history. The sanctions have decimated the North Korea economy and have been largely credited for bringing North Korea to the negotiating table.

Black, Blackburn, and DesJarlais were joined as signators on the letter by fifteen other  Republican members of Congress: Rep. Luke Messer (R-IN), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Scott DesJarlais (R-TN-04), Michal Burgess (R-TX), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen (R-American Samoa) , Mark Meadows (R-NC), Matt Gaetz (R-FL), David McKinley (R-WV), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Brian Babbin (R-TX), Steve King (R-IA), Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX), Rep. Jim Renacci (R-OH), Rep. Evan Jenkins (R-WV), and Rep. Drew Ferguson (R-GA).

Former President Barack Obama was awarded the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize in February 2009, one month after he was inaugurated as president. His main accomplishment at that time was getting elected president.








Related posts

One Thought to “Diane Black, Marsha Blackburn, and Scott DesJarlais Nominate Donald Trump for Nobel Peace Prize”

  1. […] members of the House, and she was one of the earliest supporters of President Trump. She also nominated him for a Nobel Peace Prize for his work in tweeting about North Korea. She also believes that […]