Christian Family Values Organization Calls for Ohioans to Share Their Displeasure With Sen. Sherrod Brown for Voting Against Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Act

A Christian pro-family organization is calling for Ohioans to share their displeasure with U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH), who voted against a bill to protect babies born after a botched abortion.

Citizens for Community Values’ website says of the organization, “As Ohio’s Family Policy Council, Citizens for Community Values seeks the good of our neighbors throughout Ohio by advocating for public policy that reflects the truth of the Gospel. We believe in an all-powerful, all-knowing God and His perfect Word for us, the Bible.”

Citizens for Community Values issued an action alert Tuesday regarding Brown’s vote against the Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection Act.The action alert is available here. Ohioans are encouraged to fill out a form to send their complaints to Brown.

“Unlike Ohio U.S. Senator Rob Portman who cosponsored and voted to protect these newborns, Ohio U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown voted against protecting these newborns,” Citizens for Community Values said in comparing Brown to Portman, a Republican who co-sponsored the act with Sen. Ben Sasse (R-NE).

Brown took to Twitter to defend his vote as one for women’s healthcare choice and a vote against Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY). Brown tweeted, “Women should have the freedom to make personal, private health decisions, and those decisions should be between them and their doctors, not their legislators. That’s true today, and every day.”

On Monday, the U.S. Senate failed to pass the Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection Act by a vote of 53-44, seven votes short of the 60 votes needed to pass the bill by a supermajority.

Only three Democratic Senators voted for the bill, according to a story by Breitbart. Those senators are Bob Casey of Pennsylvania, Doug Jones of Alabama and Joe Manchin of West Virginia.

Pro-choice Republicans Susan Collins of Maine and Lisa Murkowski of Alaska did not vote. Republican Sens. Kevin Cramer of North Dakota and Tim Scott of South Carolina also failed to vote.

– – –

Jason M. Reynolds has more than 20 years’ experience as a journalist at outlets of all sizes.
Photo “Sherrod Brown” by Sherrod Brown. Background Photo “Sherrod Brown” by Sherrod Brown. 











Related posts