2020 Democratic Presidential Debate: Who Qualified And Who Is Struggling?

by Molly Prince


The crowded 2020 presidential primary field is beginning to shape up as Democratic hopefuls meet the Democratic National Committee’s (DNC) threshold for who qualifies to participate in the party’s debates.

In order to score one of the debate podiums, candidates must either receive donations from at least 65,000 unique donors (with a minimum of 200 donors in more than 19 states) or receive at least 1 percent support in three DNC-approved polls.

With one debate scheduled for June and another for July, and each debate limited to only 10 candidates, the 20 podiums allotted are filling up. Who gets a spot at which debate will be determined by a random draw of the qualifying candidates. In the event that more than 20 Democrats qualify, those who meet both the fundraising and polling threshold will be prioritized.

Here is where 2020 presidential hopefuls stand on qualifying for debates:

Qualified With Fundraising And Polling

  • Joe Biden, former vice president to Barack Obama
  • Cory Booker, senator from New Jersey
  • Pete Buttigieg, mayor of South Bend, Indiana=
  • Julián Castro, former Housing and Urban Development Secretary to Barack Obama
  • Tulsi Gabbard, representative from Hawaii
  • Kamala Harris, senator from California
  • Jay Inslee, governor of Washington
  • Amy Klobuchar, senator from Minnesota
  • Robert “Beto” O’Rourke, former representative from Texas
  • Bernie Sanders, senator from Vermont
  • Elizabeth Warren, senator from Massachusetts
  • Marianne Williamson, author
  • Andrew Yang, entrepreneur

Qualified With Polling Only:

  • Steve Bullock, governor of Montana
  • John Delaney, former representative from Maryland
  • Kirsten Gillibrand, senator from New York
  • John Hickenlooper, former governor of Colorado
  • Tim Ryan, representative from Ohio
  • Eric Swalwell, representative from California

Qualified With Fundraising Only:


Has Not Qualified:

  • Michael Bennet, senator from Colorado
  • Bill de Blasio, mayor of New York, New York
  • Mike Gravel, former senator from Alaska
  • Seth Moulton, representative from Massachusetts
  • Wayne Messam, mayor of Miramar, Florida.

– – –

Molly Prince is a reporter for the Daily Caller News Foundation. Follow Molly on Twitter.
Photo “Cory Booker” by Senate Democrats. CC BY 2.0.










Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact [email protected]

Related posts