A new concealed carry handgun carry permit for Tennesseans takes effect January 1 and includes the option for online training.
The law approved in 2019 creates a more affordable and accessible concealed carry permit so that more Tennesseans are able to exercise their right to self-defense, the Tennessee Senate Republican Caucus said in a press release. The current carry permit will not be changed; rather it will be called an enhanced permit.The new carry permit aims to ease the application process by increasing affordability and expanding qualified training programs.
The new law allows applicants to take a hunter education safety course or other firearms training courses to fulfill the training requirement for the permit, including free online videos or classes, the caucus said. All classes must be approved by the Department of Safety. Required material is outlined in the law and must cover topics such as Tennessee’s gun laws, in order to ensure permit applicants are educated.
Classes are not less than 90 minutes in length.
“This current proposal has someone only watching a video and learning about gun safety from a video,” State Rep. David Hawk (R-TN-05) told WJHL. “You don’t have an instructor present.”
WJHL interviewed JC Harrison, owner of Cover Your Six Customs gun store in Johnson City. He offers the eight-hour training session, which he said is better than the new option.
“They should stick with the eight-hour course because you’ve got some individuals who are new to guns,” says Harrison. “I think they should have more training than just a ninety-minute course.”
More information on the new permit is here. The card will be good for eight years. Holders may not carry at any school or university. A name-based background check will be run every five years.
The new concealed carry permit application is $65, compared to $100 for the enhanced permit, according to the Senate Republican Caucus. In order to receive the new concealed permit applicants must be at least 21 years of age, pass a background check from the TBI and provide proof they have completed a Department of Safety approved hand gun safety training course within one year of the date of application.
– – –
Jason M. Reynolds has more than 20 years’ experience as a journalist at outlets of all sizes.
Photo “Concealed Carry” by Clinge Holsters. CC BY-ND 2.0.