Teachers, School Staff in 10 Counties Eligible to Receive Coronavirus Vaccine Next Week


The Ohio Department of Health has published a list of school districts whose staff will be eligible to receive the coronavirus vaccine starting next week.

Staff and teachers at K-12 schools in Ohio will begin to be eligible for the vaccine starting the week of February 1,according to the Ohio Department of Health. The state has taken a rolling approach to distribution, with staff in the Cincinnati Public Schools district becoming eligible later this week, followed by 10 other counties. The counties whose staff and teachers will become eligible are Allen, Athens, Butler, Columbiana, Delaware, Franklin, Mahoning, Medina, Montgomery and Summit counties.

Overall, the vaccine will become available to 91,000 K-12 teachers and school staff. The Ohio Department of Health said it expects to have all first doses administered to teachers by the end of February.

The vaccine will only be available to schools that commit to returning to in-person learning, either full-time or as a hybrid model, by March 1.

Ohio recently moved into Phase 1B of vaccine distribution. The phase, which began on January 19, covers those who are 65 years or older, those with severe congenital or developmental disorders and staff members of K-12 schools. Those who are 70 and older and staff members of K-12 schools are slated to be eligible for vaccination beginning the week of February 1, followed by those who are 65 and older beginning the week of February 8.

The state has administered at least the first dose of the vaccine to more than 682,000 residents, according to data from the ODH.

See the complete list of schools whose staff are eligible to receive the vaccine here.

– – –

Jordyn Pair is a reporter with The Ohio Star. Follow her on Twitter at @JordynPair.






Related posts