National Republican Congressional Committee Chairman Tom Emmer: Vulnerable Democrat Incumbents ‘Will Be Shown No Mercy’

Representative Tom Emmer (R-MN-06), the chair of the National Republican Congressional Committee (NRCC), declared open season on Democrat U.S. House incumbents as the NRCC continues to expand its list of targeted races for a Republican takeover.

The NRCC had previously announced 70 targeted races. It is now targeting 72.

Emmer said in a statement, “Republicans have the message, the candidates, and the resources needed to take back the majority. Vulnerable Democrats who chose not to retire will be shown no mercy.”

Emmer previously said, “In a cycle like this, no Democrat is safe. Voters are rejecting Democrat policies that have caused massive price increases, opened our borders, and spurred a nationwide crime wave.”

The NRCC’s statement also provided a breakdown of the Democrat-held districts that make its list.

Twelve of the seats are districts former President Donald Trump won in 2020. Eleven are districts President Joe Biden won by five percentage points or less. Sixteen are districts that Biden won by 5 to 10 percent. Thirty-three are districts in which Biden won by more than 10 percentage points.

States have not concluded the redistricting process for several listed districts. They include FL-7, FL-13, FL-14, FL-22, NH-1, NH-2, MD-6. The NRCC used the current lines for those in making its determinations.

The fully updated NRCC target list is as follows:

AZ-02: O’Halleran
AZ-04: Stanton
AZ-06: Open (Kirkpatrick)
CA-09: Harder
CA-13: Open
CA-26: Brownley
CA-47: Porter
CA-49: Levin
CO-07: Open (Perlmutter)
CO-08: Open
CT-02: Courtney
CT-05: Hayes
FL-07: Open (Murphy)
FL-13: Open (Crist)
FL-14: Castor
FL-22: Open (Deutch)
GA-02: Bishop
GA-06: Open (McBath)
IA-03: Axne
IL-06: Casten/Newman
IL-11: Foster
IL-14: Underwood
IL-17: Open (Bustos)
IN-01: Mrvan
KS-03: Davids
MD-06: Trone
ME-02: Golden
MI-07: Slotkin
MI-08: Kildee
MI-10: Open (Stevens)
MN-02: Craig
MN-03: Philips
MT-01: Open
NC-01: Open (Butterfield)
NC-06: Manning
NC-13: Open
NC-14: Open
NH-01: Pappas
NH-02: Kuster
NJ-03: Kim
NJ-05: Gottheimer
NJ-07: Malinowski
NM-01: Stansbury
NM-03: Leger-Fernandez
NV-01: Titus
NV-03: Lee
NV-04: Horsford
NY-03: Open (Suozzi)
NY-04: Open (Rice)
NY-18: Maloney
NY-19: Delgado
NY-20: Tonko
OH-09: Kaptur
OH-13: Open (Ryan)
OR-04: Open (DeFazio)
OR-05: Schrader
OR-06: Open
PA-06: Houlahan
PA-07: Wild
PA-08: Cartwright
PA-17: Open (Lamb)
RI-02: Open (Langevin)
TN-05: Open (Cooper)
TX-15: Open (Gonzalez)
TX-28: Cuellar
TX-34: Open (Vela)
TX-38: Open 
VA-02: Luria
VA-07: Spanberger
VA-10: Wexton
WA-08: Schrier
WI-03: Open (Kind)

The additions to the list are bolded.

District partisan makeup, polling, candidate fundraising, and the current national mood are often factors that determine whether the NRCC targets a district. As the election cycle continues, races are often added and subtracted from the target list.

– – –

Aaron Gulbransen is a reporter at The Star News Network. Email tips to [email protected]. Follow Aaron on GETTRTwitter, and Parler.
Photo “Tom Emmer” by United States Congress. Background Photo “U.S. Capitol” by Raul654.

Related posts