Five New Officers Elected to Ohio Republican Party State Central Committee

The Ohio Republican Party State Central Committee elected five new officers and filled four vacant committee seats at their January meeting Sunday.

The longtime leader of the Hamilton County Republican Party Alex Triantafilou was selected to replace Bob Paduchik as the Ohio Republican Party’s next chairman.

Triantafilou has served as chairman of the Hamilton County Republican Party since 2008, as well as a Hamilton County prosecutor and a judge on two courts. Before serving as a judge, Triantafilou served as vice-chairman of the Bush-Cheney 2004 campaign. He is a former president of the Green Township Republican Club and a former member of the Republican Executive and Judicial Screening Committee.

Triantafilou defeated several opponents, including Bryan Williams, chairman of the Summit County Republican Party; Dale Fellows, chairman of the Lake County Republican Party; and Jean Anderson, former mayor of Vermillion.

“I will do everything in my power to advance the cause of the Republican Party in Ohio for victory. That’s what it’s all about,” Triantafilou said.

The Ohio Republican Party unanimously selected committee member Curt Braden of district 29 as vice chairman.

Braden has served on the Stark County Republican Executive Committee from 1999-present. He served as the Stark County Republican Party Chairman from 2000-2008. He served on the state central and executive committees of the Ohio Republican Party from 1998 to 2002 and from 2006 to the present. He was also the head of the 2002 Blackwell for Secretary of State campaign and the Ohio co-chairman of the 2004 Grassroots Campaign for Bush Cheney.

Braden ran unopposed for the position of vice chairman.

“I am guided, first by family and faith and second by the principles of the Republican Party. I promise, without any hesitation, to work with great passion and diligence to help elect Republicans to office,” Braden said.

The Ohio Republican Party selected committee member Ron Maag of district 7 to serve as treasurer.

Maag is a former state Representative who served four terms in the Ohio House. Prior to being elected to the Legislature, Maag was a salesman for Bristol-Myers Squibb Company and served as a board member for the Warren County Farm Bureau. An alumnus of the University of Cincinnati, Maag obtained his Bachelor of Science degree in interdisciplinary sciences.

Maag ran against committee member Gary James of district 19.

“I am humbled and honored. We have important work to do,” Maag said.

After James lost the vote to Maag, the Ohio Republican Party selected him to serve as assistant treasurer.

James is the founder and president of Dynalab, Inc., an electronic manufacturing services company; Dynalab Test Systems, Inc., a designer, and manufacturer of electronic test equipment; President of JAAS Systems, LLC, a publisher of manufacturing software; and a board member of MD Systems, LLC, a medical device manufacturer. He is an alumnus of Franklin University, a past Board of Trustees Chairman, and served on the Finance, Partnerships, and Governance Committees.

James won the position of assistant treasurer against Republican activist Penny Martin.

“I think I will do a wonderful job and bring a lot of skill sets. I stand ready,” James said.

The Ohio Republican Party unanimously chose committee member Tony Schroeder of district 1 to serve as secretary.

Schroeder is the current chairman of the Putnam County Republican Executive and Central Committees. He has served as a board member on the Putnam County Board of Elections, and a member of the Ohio Association of Elections Officials. He is also a member of Ohio Right to Life, the National Rifle Association, and the Buckeye Firearms Association.

“I was honored to be elected Secretary of the Ohio Republican Party by my State Central Committee colleagues at our reorganization meeting today. I am grateful for the confidence they have placed in me, and will do my best to deserve their votes,” Schroeder said.

The committee also filled four vacancies and added Allison Zwicker, recently elected president of the Woman’s Republican Club in Canfield, in district 33, Orlando Sonza, recent state senate candidate and army veteran in district 9, Lauren Bowen, Ohio director of the Freedom Foundation in district 9, and David Glass, Chairman of the Ross County Republican Party, in district 17 as members.

– – –

Hannah Poling is a lead reporter at The Ohio Star and The Star News Network. Follow Hannah on Twitter @HannahPoling1. Email tips to [email protected]
Photo “Ron Maag” by Ron Maag. Photo “Alex Triantafilou” by Alextri. Photo “Tony Schroeder” by Tony Schroeder. Photo “Curt Braden Realtor” by Curt Braden Realtor. Photo “Gary James” by Ohio House of Representatives Republican Caucus. Background Photo “Ohio Statehouse” by General Ization. CC BY 3.0.


Related posts