24 Individuals Are Now Collecting Petitions for Tennessee’s 5th Congressional District as Petition Deadline Looms

US Capitol Infrastructure

The Tennessee Secretary of State’s office now lists 24 individuals as collecting petitions in the campaign for Tennessee’s 5th Congressional District.

There are 16 Republicans, four Democrats, and four Independents collecting qualifying petitions for the TN-5 race.

Candidates of all parties have until noon on April 7 to turn in their qualifying petitions, a deadline which is fast approaching. Candidates must collect 25 valid signatures from registered voters in the district. Those seeking the Republican nomination must be verified as bona fide Republicans by the Tennessee Republican Party in order to appear on the GOP primary ballot.

Challenges have been filed against the bona fide Republican statuses of the three carpetbaggers in the race, Morgan Ortagus, David Vitalli, and Robby Starbuck. Action will occur on those challenges after the April 7 filing deadline.

On the Republican side, Morgan Ortagus, former Speaker of the Tennessee House Beth Harwell of Nashville, businessman Baxter Lee of Nashville, Robby Starbuck of Franklin (listed as Robert Starbuck Newsom), Geni Batchelor of Lebanon, Natisha Brooks of Nashville, Timothy Bruce Lee of Nashville, Annabelle Lee of Madison, Alan Clement Sharp of Nashville, David Vitalli of Brentwood, Stewart Parks of Nashville, Richie Lee of Nashville, General Kurt Winstead of Franklin, Tres Wittum of Nashville, Jeff Beierlein of Nashville, and Maury County Mayor Andy Ogles are listed as collecting petitions.

Former Williamson County GOP Chair Omar Hamada of Franklin is still listed as collecting petitions but he dropped out of the race and endorsed Maury County Mayor Andy Ogles in the GOP primary.

On the Democrat side, Clay Faircloth, Richard H. Harris, Justicia Rizzo, and Joel Michael Hurbert, all from Nashville, are collecting petitions.

Derrick Brantley of Nashville, Patrick O. Halfacre of Hohenwald, Daniel J. Cooper of Spring Hill, and Richard A. Shannon of Franklin are the independents collecting petitions.

The Tennessee Secretary of State’s office has been updating its list on a weekly basis. This list is current as of Friday, April 1.

Reports are expected to be available for the January 1 through March 31, 2022 Federal Election Commission campaign finance first-quarter period in the coming days. Those reports are expected to shed significant light on which candidates are considered viable. The bulk of the field entered the race after the December 31, 2021 reporting deadline.

The primaries are scheduled for August 4, 2022.

The newly-redrawn 5th Congressional District consists of parts of Davidson, Williamson, and Wilson counties, as well as all of Maury, Marshall, and Lewis counties.

– – –

Aaron Gulbransen is a reporter at The Tennessee Star and The Star News Network. Email tips to [email protected]. Follow Aaron on GETTRTwitter, and Parler.
Photo “U.S. Capitol” by Andrew Can Huss.

Related posts

One Thought to “24 Individuals Are Now Collecting Petitions for Tennessee’s 5th Congressional District as Petition Deadline Looms”

  1. lb

    At some point this becomes ridiculous. 24 ppl for 1 Seat
    Is this just a ploy by some to raise $$ they can then spend on anything?