Eight Tennessee Sites Added to National Register of Historic Places

Eight Tennessee sites have been added to the National Register of Historic Places.

Three are in Shelby County. They include the Rock of Ages Christian Methodist Episcopal Church and the Memphis Federation of Musicians Local 71 Building, both in Memphis. The Charles Davis House in Collierville was also honored.

The other sites include the Cleveland Commercial Historic District in Bradley County, the LaFollette Coke Ovens in Campbell County, Kern’s Bakery in Knoxville, the Science Building at Tennessee Tech in Cookeville and the William A. McMurry House in Springfield in Robertson County.

The Tennessee Historical Commission made the announcement last week on its Facebook page.

“As Tennessee grows, it is important to recognize the unique historic places that help define us,” said Patrick McIntyre, state historic preservation officer and executive director of the Tennessee Historical Commission. “The National Register is an honorary designation that emphasizes the importance of these special properties worth maintaining and passing along to future generations.”

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of cultural resources in the U.S. deemed worthy of preservation. The Tennessee Historical Commission oversees the program in Tennessee.

Related posts