Abortion Clinic Fined $193,000 for Violating Florida Law

The Florida Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) ordered a clinic Monday to pay nearly $200,000 in fees for violating a rule preventing women from receiving an abortion within 24 hours of requesting the procedure, according to a final order.

The rule, which lawmakers passed in 2015 and instated in April 2022, mandates that women must receive an ultrasound as well as a full explanation of the risks posed by abortion at least 24 hours before the procedure takes place, the Orlando Weekly reported. The American Civil Liberties Union filed a lawsuit against the rule in June 2015, and the legal move prevented the bill from taking effect until Circuit Judge Angela Dempsey dismissed the suit in 2022, according to The Associated Press.

Read More

‘Pools of Blood’: Authorities Shut Down Florida Abortion Clinic for Endangering Patients

The Florida Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) shut down an abortion clinic last week with an emergency order for allegedly failing to follow safety protocols after two women were hospitalized following their second trimester abortions.

Read More